The 2022 Hospitality Awards Finalists have been announced!

The category sponsors have whittled nominees down to the final three and are currently speaking with the finalists to get to know a little more about them, their role and the achievements before announcing their winners at an awards ceremony in February.

The Southampton Region Hoteliers Association launched the Hospitality Awards with the aim to promote and celebrate the talent and commitment within the local industry, and after having to miss a year due to the pandemic, this year, with the backing of headline sponsor Radio Taxis, proved to be popular with nominations.

Covid has had a massive impact on hospitality and it’s more than ever important to recognise the stars within the industry. The 2022 awards also have a new category ‘Lockdown Hero’ adapting to the more recent climate.

Nathan Chart, Chair of the Southampton Region Hoteliers Association says: ‘’The pandemic has really taken its toll on the hospitality industry and through the awards, we are delighted to be able to show staff at the local hotels just how much they are valued. Those nominated and listed as finalists should be extremely proud and we can’t wait to find out the winners at the awards evening in February 2022’’

Finalists are listed below:

Rising Star of The Year Award (Sponsored by Destination Southampton)

Warren Howes – Holiday Inn Southampton
Ferozan Ebrahimi – Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Lucy Whittington – Balmer Lawn Hotel

Chef of The Year Award (Judged by Hampshire Fare)

Tim Smith – New Place Hotel
Mark Surcliffe – DoubleTree Southampton
Jurgita Stulgiene – Solent Hotel & Spa

Operational Excellence Award (Sponsored by The Marketing Collective)

Lorita Ilieva – Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour Hotel
Patina Farnham – Novotel Southampton
Mario Martinisi – New Place Hotel

Top Team of The Year Award (Sponsored by Comax UK)

Holiday Inn Eastleigh
New Place Hotel
Hilton at the Ageas Bowl

Community Award (Sponsored by GO! Southampton)

Novotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 J7
New Place Hotel

Sales and Revenue of the Year Award (Sponsored by Hotelcare judged by Alder Hospitality Management)

Jon Fisher – New Place Hotel
Sales and Revenue Team – Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Angela Lawrence – Doubletree by Hilton Southampton

Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by Fire Hospitality)

John Ray – Novotel Southampton
Richard Fletcher – Holiday Inn Eastleigh
Suzanne Lyle – New Place

Lockdown Hero Award (Sponsored by The So SO Show)

Joe Ridd – Solent Hotel & Spa
Toni Martin – Jurys and Leonardo Royal Southampton Grand Harbour Hotel
Michael Clitheroe – Balmer Lawn Hotel

Headline sponsor Radio Taxis will judge and announce the ‘Best of the Rest’ category which will give a second chance to all remaining finalists.